You are here

Amman records lowest ratio of vote registration

By Khaled Neimat - Oct 18,2012 - Last updated at Oct 18,2012

AMMAN — More than 63 per cent of the total registered voters for the parliamentary elections came from Jordan’s three largest cities, the Independent Elections Commission’s (IEC) figures showed on Thursday.

Amman led the country with more than 709,000 registered voters and more than 31 per cent of the total registrants, but with the lowest registration percentage among its eligible voters with less than 50 per cent. 

Irbid came second with more than 19 per cent of the total registered voters. The total number of registrants from Irbid stood at 453,493 at the end of the two-month process, which ended Monday.

In Zarqa, the second largest city in terms of population density, the total number of voters who signed up for the polls went above the 275,000 mark. Zarqa made up more than 12 per cent of the total registrants.

The total number of registrants is 2,281,606. Around 1.5 million of them came from these three cities.

In terms of the number of registrants, the Badia District came fourth with 144,221 registrants, followed by Karak, Mafraq, Jerash, Ajloun, Madaba, Maan, Aqaba and Tafileh. 

The registered to eligible voters ratio in Maan exceeded 106 per cent. Officials explained in a statement that the badia voters who registered in Maan were behind the surge. 

The Civil Status and Passports Department is verifying the list to eliminate any military personnel or individuals who died between August 7 and October 15.

Meanwhile, the Higher Judicial Council’s Law Interpretation Bureau ruled that determining the lowest number of candidates for the closed proportional list at the national level falls within the jurisdiction of the IEC.

The commission had earlier requested that Prime Minster Abdullah Ensour consult with the bureau in this regard.

The Elections Law designates 27 seats for the closed proportional list at the national level, but does not specify the lowest number of candidates in each list.

The IEC has already set January 23 as election day. 

Public servants who wish to run for the elections have four days left to submit their resignations to meet the period specified by the law. 

Article 11 of the Elections Law stipulates that all public employees, including ministers, who wish to run for elections have to resign 60 days before the start of the candidacy period.

Filing candidacy applications will start on December 22, the IEC announced. 

3 users have voted.



Saturday 03 October 2015


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.