You are here

Jordanian-Syrian Friendship Committee formed

By JT - Dec 24,2018 - Last updated at Dec 24,2018

A parliamentary delegation meets with Syrian President Bashar Assad in Damascus in November (Photo courtesy of SANA news agency)

AMMAN — The Lower House has formed a Jordanian-Syrian Friendship Committee headed by MP Tareq Khouri, the Jordan News Agency, Petra, reported on Monday. 

Khouri, who was with the parliamentary delegation that visited Syria in late November, said that the newly-formed committee is the largest of its kind in the House, with the membership of 21 lawmakers, according to Petra. 

In November, the delegation discussed with Syrian President Bashar Assad bringing the Jordanian-Syrian relations to a level “as strong as they were before 2011”, as well as Syria’s return to the Arab League. 

Veteran MP Abdul Karim Dughmi, who was a part of the delegation that visited Syria, told The Jordan Times upon his return that the trip was a “complete success” on all fronts.

“We had very brotherly discussions with President Assad, who began by conveying his greetings to His Majesty King Abdullah and all Jordanians, underlining his keenness on fostering strong relations with Jordan,” Dughmi said at the time.

In addition to Khouri, the friendship committee includes Awad Zawaideh, Mustafa Yaghi, Khaled Abu Hassan, Andre Hawari, Haitham Ziadin, Nidal Taani, Qais Ziadin, Mahmoud Teeti, Khamis Atiyah, Barakat Abbadi, Jawdat Darabseh, Haya Mefleh, Wael Razzouq, Khaled Ramadan, Ahmad Safadi, Ibtisam Nawafleh, Majed Qweism, Shaha Abu Shousheh, Hassan Saud and Entisar Hijazi.

3 users have voted, including you.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
11 + 7 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.