You are here

Riyadi head for Dubai tournament

By Aline Bannayan - Jan 09,2013 - Last updated at Jan 09,2013

AMMAN — Riyadi Aramex headed to Dubai on Wednesday to play at the 24th Dubai International Tournament against some of the best regional clubs.

Riyadi were drawn in Group B against Ahli Dubai, Lebanon’s Muttahed, Philippines’ Smart Gilas. Group A includes Lebanon’s Riyadi and Hikmeh (Sagesse), the UAE’s national team and Kazakhstan’s Almati.
Riyadi are set to play Ahli Dubai on Friday before facing Muttahed on Saturday and Smart Gilas on Monday. All teams will play in the second round based on their standings in the Round 1 before the winners advance to the semis on January 18.
Riyadi played three friendlies before leaving for Dubai, beating Orthodoxi 92-70, 94-77 and Applied Science University (ASU) 73-62.
“We tested all combinations and head to Dubai ready for the competition,” Riyadi Secretary General Fadi Sabbah told The Jordan Times.
“All competing teams represent some of the best in their country leagues. It will be a good competition for our line-up ahead of the league,’’ he added.
Riyadi first competed in Dubai in 1990. Jordan’s Fastlink came in third in 2005, 2006 and 2007. Zain came in second place in 2008 and 2009, and were eliminated from the quarters in 2010 when ASU also took part. No Jordanian teams took part in 2011.
This month, Riyadi beat ASU 80-79 to win the 10th Jordan Basketball Cup for the second consecutive year. Riyadi eliminated Ittihad Schools 61-60 while ASU beat Kulieh 95-50 in the semis as teams prepare for the tip off of the Premier Basketball League.
Riyadi have signed Darin Dorsey, Alpha Bangura and Ashraff Dabbas and will have Sani Sakakini join as well for the local league. Riyadi’s rising star who led the team to the U-19 title, Ahmad Duweiri, has boosted the line-up with the return of Seif Amer, Ali Jamal, Mohammad Jamal and Isa Kamel leading the ambitious line-up.
This season, Riyadi came second in the U-13 and U-17 boys and U-15 girls. They are currently playing in women’s league and U-15 boys matches.


2002       Hikmeh (Lebanon)
2003       Champville (Lebanon)
2004       Champville (Lebanon)
2005       Riyadi (Lebanon)
2006       Riyadi (Lebanon)
2007       Mahram (Iran)
2008       Riyadi (Lebanon)
2009       Riyadi (Lebanon)
2010       Mahram (Iran)
2011       Ittihad Sakandari (Egypt)
2012       Anibal Zahle (Lebanon)

3 users have voted.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.