You are here

Al Hussein score victory over Sahab to win first Pro League title

By JT - May 26,2024 - Last updated at May 26,2024

Al Hussein Irbid SC squad that clinched the first Jordanian Pro League title in its history (Photo courtesy of Jordanian Football Federation)

AMMAN — Al Hussein Irbid SC won the Jordanian Pro League title for the first time in its history after defeating Sahab SC 2-1.

Al Hussein centre-forward Abdou Aziz Ndiaye scored twice in the 45th and 71st minutes, while Hamza Saifi scored Sahab's only goal.

Irbid's Al Hussein football club collected record 59 points, while the 35 times champions Faisaly collected 57 points to secure second place in the Pro League.

Nicknamed "Ghuzat Al Shamal" (Invaders of the North), Al Hussein Irbid SC was established in 1960 and had never, since then, won the title but remained in many times among the Pro League big four clubs, besides Faisaly, Wehdat and Ramtha. Al Hussein won the first-ever title in its history, and with the title, Al Hussein ended dominance of Faisaly and Wehdat two most popular and most successful Jordanian clubs.

71 users have voted.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.