You are here

Faisali manage to snatch Jordan Cup title

By Aline Bannayan - May 23,2015 - Last updated at May 23,2015

AMMAN — Faisali managed to beat That Ras and win the 35th Jordan Cup title on Friday, ending a disappointing season by winning one of the season’s titles.

Faisali led 1-0 on a penalty, but That Ras equalised just before the end of the match which went into extra time. Faisali managed to score their all important goal and secured at least one season title with their record 18th Cup title, after last winning in 2011.

After finishing at a disappointing 7th place in the Jordan Professional League, Faisali made up for a bad season. In addition to JD45,000 in prize money, they are now slated to play the Super Cup opening the 2015/16 season, and also secured representing Jordan in Asian regional competitions as well.

That Ras settled for JD25,000. With two key players missing due to injury, they could not repeat their 2012 Jordan Cup win. 

The finalists had upstaged Ramtha and Wihdat to reach the final. That Ras who finished fourth in the League beat Ramtha 4-2 after Leg 1 ended 0-0. In the other match, Faisali stunned League champs and Cup titleholders Wihdat 1-0 after Leg 1 had ended 0-0.

In the quarter-final Leg 1, Ahli held Ramtha 1-1, That Ras beat Jazira 1-0, Wihdat beat Sarih 1-0 and Faisali beat Manshieh 2-1. In Leg 2, Faisali held Manshieh 1-1, Wihdat held Sarih 0-0, That Ras beat Jazira 4-3 on penalties, and Ramtha beat Ahli 2-1. Baqaa, Shabab Urdun, and Hussein were eliminated earlier in the competition in which only Professional League teams played this year. 

Wihdat won two titles in the 2014/15 football season. They beat Baqaa to snatch the 32nd Super Cup and added their 14th League title. The runner-up and third places went to Jazira and Ramtha. 


Last season, Wihdat won the Jordan Professional League and beat Baqaa to win the Jordan Cup, while Shabab Urdun beat That Ras to win the 31st Super Cup. The Jordan Football Association Shield was not held.

Jordan Cup record 

(Runner- up in parenthesis)

1980Faisali (Baqaa)

1981Faisali (Ramtha)

1982Wihdat (Ahli)

1983Faisali (Ramtha)

1984Jazira (Ahli)

1985Wihdat (Faisali)

1986Arabi (Jazira)

1987Faisali (Hussein)

1988Wihdat (Faisali)

1989Faisali (Ramtha)

1990Ramtha (Hussein)

1991Ramtha (Wihdat)

1992Faisali (Wihdat)

1993Faisali (Ramtha)

1994Faisali (Ramtha)

1995Faisali (Ramtha)

1996Wihdat (Ramtha)

1997Wihdat (Ramtha)

1998Faisali (Wihdat)

1999Faisali (Wihdat)

2000Wihdat (Faisali)

2001Faisali (Hussein)

2002Faisali (Hussein)

2003 Faisali (Hussein)

2004 Faisali (Sh. Hussein)

2005 Shabab Urdun (Faisali)

2006 Shabab Urdun (Faisali)

2007Faisali (Shabab Urdun)

2008 Wihdat (Shabab Urdun)

2009Wihdat (Arabi)

2010Wihdat (Manshieh)

2011Faisali (Manshieh)

2012That Ras (Ramtha)

2013Wihdat (Baqaa)


2014Faisali (That Ras)

120 users have voted.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.