You are here

New government sworn in

By JT - Jun 14,2018 - Last updated at Jun 14,2018

AMMAN — Prime Minister Omar Razzaz and members of his Cabinet were sworn in on Thursday before His Majesty King Abdullah. 

In addition to Razzaz, who was designated by King Abdullah on June 5th to form a new government, the Cabinet includes 28 ministers.

This is the first government to be formed by Razzaz, who holds a PhD from Harvard University in planning with a minor in economics, and a post-doctorate from Harvard Law School.

The newcomers included Rajai Muasher who was appointed as deputy prime minister and minister of state.

Other members of the team also included Ezzeddine Kanakrieh as finance minister, Ayman Safadi as minister of foreign affairs, Jumana Ghneimat as minister of state for media affairs, Hala Zawati as energy minister, Samir Mubaidin as interior minister, Abdul Nasser Abul Basal as awqaf and Islamic affairs minister, Nayef Fayez as minister of environment.

The Cabinet includes seven women ministers.

Following is the list of Prime Minister Omar Razzaz' Cabinet members:

  • Omar Razzaz: Prime Minister and Minister of Defence
  • Rajai Muasher: Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State 
  • Ayman Safadi: Minister of Foreign Affairs and Expatriates
  • Adel Tweisi: Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research
  • Hala Lattouf: Minister of Social Development
  • Musa Maaytah: Minister of Political and Parliamentary Affairs 
  • Samir Murad: Minister of Labour
  • Mahmoud Sheyyab: Minister of Health
  • Yahya Kisbi: Minister of Public Works and Housing
  • Nayef Fayez: Minister of Environment
  • Walid Masri: Minister of Transport and Minister of Municipal Affairs 
  • Majd Shweikeh: Minister of Public Sector Development
  • Lina Annab: Minister of Tourism and Antiquities
  • Khaled Hneifat: Minister of Agriculture
  • Awad Abu Jarad: Minister of Justice
  • Muhannad Shehadeh: Minister of State for Investment Affairs
  • Samir Mubaidin: Minister of Interior
  • Abdul Nasser Abul Bassal: Minister of Awqaf and Islamic Affairs
  • Izzidine Kanakrieh: Minister of Finance
  • Munir Owais: Minister of Water and Irrigation
  • Azmi Mahafzah: Minister of Education
  • Makram Qaisi: Minister of Youth
  • Mubarak Abu Yamin: Minister of State for Legal Affairs
  • Tareq Hammouri: Minister of Industry, Trade and Supply
  • Jumana Ghunaimat: Minister of State for Media Affairs
  • Hala Zawati: Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources
  • Mary Qawar: Minister of Planning and International Cooperation
  • Basmah Nsour: Minister of Culture
  • Muthana Gharaibeh: Minister of ICT



53 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
1 + 14 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.