You are here

Faisali play Jazira as 2017/18 football season kicks off Friday

By Aline Bannayan - Aug 10,2017 - Last updated at Aug 10,2017

AMMAN  — The 2016-2017 football season agenda kicks off on Friday when Jordan Professional Football League and Jordan Cup champs Faisali play runners-up Jazira in the 35th Jordan Super Cup — the first major competition on the 2017/18 football calendar.

Faisali just returned from the Arab Championship where they finished runners-up to Tunisia’s Tarajji after an impressive performance, which included two wins over Egyptian veterans Ahli. 

Jazira, who almost won the league last season, are eager for a local title and are just back from a training camp in Turkey.

Faisali are twice winner of the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup. In the 2016/17 season they won the Pro League and Jordan Cup titles while Ahli beat Wihdat to win the 34th Super Cup and Shabab Urdun won the Jordan Football Association Shield.

In the previous season, Wihdat won their third consecutive league title and 15th since they moved up to the professional league in 1975. Faisali beat league and Super Cup titleholder Wihdat 1-0 to clinch the 33rd Super Cup, while it was Ahli who were the overall better team of the season. After years in the backstage, Ahli won the third of the season titles when they beat Shabab Urdun to win their first Jordan Cup final.

The Super Cup has been won by Faisali a record 15 times out of 22 final appearances, Wihdat 12 times, Ramtha and Shabab Urdun twice each while Jazira, Hussein and Ahli won once each.

The winner will get JD15,000 in prize money ahead of the Jordan Football Association Shield and league kick offs later in the season.


Super Cup Record

(Runner-up in parenthesis)

1981 — Faisali (Wihdat)

1982 — Faisali (Ramtha)

1983 — Ramtha (Wihdat)

1984 — Faisali (Ramtha)

1985 — Jazira (Amman)

1986 — Faisali (Wihdat)

1987 — Faisali (Arabi)

1988 — not held

1989 — Wihdat (Faisali)

1990 — Ramtha (Faisali)

1991 — Faisali (Ramtha)

1992 — Wihdat (Ramtha)

1993 — Faisali (Wihdat)

1994 — Faisali (Ramtha) 

1995 — Faisali (Wihdat)

1996 — Faisali (Wihdat)

1997 — Wihdat (Ramtha)

1998 — Wihdat (Ramtha)

1999 — not held

2000 — Wihdat (Faisali)

2001 — Wihdat (Faisali)

2002 — Faisali (Hussein)

2003 — Hussein (Faisali)

2004 — Faisali (Hussein)

2005 – Wihdat (Faisali)

2006 — Faisali (Sh. Urdun)

2007 — Sh. Urdun (Wihdat)

2008 — Wihdat (Faisali)

2009 — Wihdat (Sh. Urdun)

2010 — Wihdat (Faisali)

2011 — Wihdat (Manshieh)

2012 — Faisali (Manshieh)

2013 — Sh. Urdun (That Ras)

2014 — Wihdat (Baqa’a)

2015 — Faisali (Wihdat)


2016 — Ahli (Wihdat)

97 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
9 + 6 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.