You are here

Jazira, Faisali represent Jordan in AFC Cup

By Aline Bannayan - Feb 11,2018 - Last updated at Feb 11,2018

AMMAN — Jazira kick off the 15th Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup on Monday when they play titleholders Iraqi Air Force Club in Group A while Faisali play Syria’s Wihdeh in Group C on Tuesday, as the second-tier Asian club competition kicks off around the continent.

Jazira’s group includes Oman’s Suweiq and Bahrain’s Malikieh. While Faisali’s group includes Oman’s Dhofar and Lebanon’s Ansar. The top teams from each group in addition to the best second placed team will move to the second round.

Last week, Faisali lost their 2018 AFC Champions League play-off match to Uzbekistan’s Nasaf Qarshi 5-1 and failed to reach the group stages of Asia’s elite club competition. They have now settled to play the AFC Cup alongside their compatriots Jazira. Jordanian teams have never before made it past the ACL preliminary round. Wihdat were knocked out in 2017, 2016 and 2015, while Shabab Urdun were eliminated in 2014.

Jordanian league champs Faisali last season finished runner-up to Tunisia’s Tarajji in the Arab Clubs Championships after an impressive performance which included two wins over Egyptian veterans Ahli. This season they are not leading the league and hope to make up on the regional scene.

Last season, Ahli played the AFC Cup for the first time and Wihdat reached the West Asia zone semifinals, the winner of which faced the winner from the rest of the Asian zones to decide the AFC Cup champion, won by Iraqi Air Force Club for the second year running.

The AFC Cup was previously won three times by Jordanian teams: Faisali won in 2005 and 2006 while Shabab Urdun won in 2007. Other Jordanian teams that competed include Wihdat, Jazira, Ramtha, Hussein and That Ras. 

So far this season, reigning League and Jordan Cup champs Faisali beat Jazira to win the 35th Jordan Super Cup. Wihdat beat Jazira to win the Jordan Football Association (JFA) Shield. In the Jordan Cup, Jazira ousted Faisali while Shabab Urdun eliminated Wihdat to reach the final.

AFC Cup Champions list

2004Jeish (Syria)

2005Faisali (Jordan)

2006 Faisali (Jordan)

2007Shabab Urdun (Jordan)

2008Muharraq (Bahrain)

2009Kuwait SC (Kuwait)

2010Ittihad Aleppo (Syria)

2011Nasaf Qarshi (Uzbekistan)

2012Kuwait SC (Kuwait)

2013Kuwait SC (Kuwait)

2014Qadissieh (Kuwait)

2015Johor Darol Tazim (Malaysia)

2016Air Force Club (Iraq)

2017Air Force Club (Iraq)

170 users have voted.

Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
3 + 4 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.


Get top stories and blog posts emailed to you each day.